6 Classes Of Nutrients
Back to Articles

6 Classes Of Nutrients

22 views • Oct 09th, 2020

An essential nutrient is a nutrient that the body cannot synthesize on its own– or not to an adequate amount — and must be provided by the diet. These nutrients are necessary for the body to function properly. The Six Classes of nutrients are Carbohydrates, Protein, Lipids (fats), Water, Vitamins, and Minerals. Each performs a different function and is found in different foods.


Carbohydrates provide approximately 50% of our energy intake and are stored in the liver and muscles until needed. It is from carbohydrates that our dietary fiber is derived (from foods such as fruits and vegetables, rice, and wheat). The digestion process begins in the mouth where food is broken down by saliva. Further digestion occurs in the small intestine, and anything not absorbed at this point is broken down in the large intestine by bacteria.

Read more at Healthier Life Guide